audible original, Reviews

The Getaway by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen

4.5 Hoots

I enjoy listening to audiobooks while I clean, so audible originals are pure gold for me. I have the membership so I get two free books a month and sometimes the selections aren’t great, but this time I was pleasantly surprised! Chloe Powell needed a fresh start after losing her job because her boss lost the election. She sees these flyers posted at her Yoga studio about a wonderful getaway that claims to be life changing…if only she knew just how life changing it would be!

When judging an audiobook I think it is important to take into account the whole thing, story, voice actor, pacing, all of it. I really think the voice actor’s portrayal can really make or break an audiobook. Luckily, the person reading this one was perfect. I really believed that she was Chloe. The way she read it seemed very organic and I really feel that she was the right choice for this book. She really drew you in and her pacing was perfect. I have read some books where I had to put it at 2x the speed just to get the sentences to be at the rate of a normal human speaking LOL.

The story itself was really interesting. Right from the start you feel that there was something just not right going on. The first chapters were a little slow but once she gets to the resort everything starts to pick up very quickly. For a short story the authors certainly kicked up the creep factor and really created a couple of scenes that made me feel like something was wrong. Everything just seemed too perfect. The host was a beautiful man who seemed incredibly deep and really thought out how to make every resort members experience unique. The property was secluded and beautiful. And of course in order to allow you to truly relax the resort had a “technology free” policy. For someone who was always connected to technology this was heaven! But remember, this is a thriller and nothing is as it seems.

Overall, this was actually a decent Audible Original! The twists were great. Also I loved when the book switched perspectives from Chloe to Helen. This allowed the listener to get an even closer look at what started everything. I mean some things were kind of obvious, but when you found out why they were the way they are, well let’s just say it took a darker twist. If you are looking for a quick thriller to listen to I really recommend this one!

Leave a comment